Loyola University Medical Education Network


Loyola University Medical Center

The dermis (D) assumes the important functions of thermoregulation and supports the vasular network to supply the avascular epidermis with nutrients. The dermis is typically subdivided into two zones, a papillary dermis and a reticular layer. The dermis contains mostly fibroblasts which are responsible for secreting collagen, elastin and ground substance that give the support and elasticity of the skin. Also present are immune cells that are involved in defense against foreign invaders passing through the epidermis.

Return to the Dermatology Medical Education Contents

Jason R. Swanson
Last Updated: November 15,1996
Created: January 19, 1996